Two Weeks of Food Jan 4-18

I know I should only post things from this past week, but since I had all the entries for last week chosen before my marathon of a cold hit I think it would only be appropriate to post it all. So this may be longer than expected.

This Sunday is my dad’s birthday. Even though he’ll never read this (because he never reads any blogs), I wanted to honor him with a favorite recipe if I could. I couldn’t find a recently posted recipe for German Chocolate Cake, which is his all time favorite, but I did find a Lemon Meringue tart recipe which is a close second. My Dad has always loved lemons; sometimes he even likes them raw.

Lemon Meringue Pie from Grace's Sweet Life.

Lemon Meringue Pie from Grace’s Sweet Life.

From here on out I’m going to separate these a bit…

News from the Cooking World

Here are some news pieces that caught my eye ^.^

First is an article about a company in Long Island called A Taste of Long Island. It provides entrepreneurs with an industrial kitchen that they can rent for 4 hour shifts and food market in which to sell their product. All in all, I thought it was just a really nifty idea.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/06/nyregion/a-taste-of-long-island-a-commercial-kitchen-with-a-built-in-market.html?ref=cookingandcookbooks&_r=0

A Short — very short, in fact — article on how to brown ground/minced meat to get the most out of your recipes. http://lifehacker.com/5977083/why-you-should-brown-only-some-of-the-ground-meat-called-for-in-recipes

This is not really news, but more a random quiz out there for all foodie football fans!
Football Food Quiz!

Next Up: Food I was Dying to Cook While Sick
These are all the food items I wanted to get up and cook in the last week and a half, but couldn’t.

First and foremost, Cinnamon Rolls. I love cinnamon. I love cinnamon rolls. I am not a huge fan of the sugar icing dumped all over the top of cinnamon rolls. Best solution? Make them myself. This recipe looks absolutely delicious.

That's so yummy . com

That’s so yummy . com

In short order, here are the rest…

Snicker-Doodles made with Snickers bars.

Snicker-doodles-Literally-4-t

Lemon Shrimp Scampi

DSC01062_zps432c2850

How to make a perfect Omelet

how-to-make-a-perfect-omelet

This is a cocktail called the Westward. I think it sounds just as good without the alcohol.

TBR_2013_westward

Italian Cenci, which looks a little like funnel cake bites to me.

cenciopenshot

Pesto is one of my favorite things in the world. Especially when my momma makes fresh from her garden, but this sounds like a good alternative to basil and pine nuts.

2013-1-17-winter-pesto-finals-2

I absolutely love this idea…it’s like pretzel chicken nuggets with the best dipping sauce ever!

Honey-Mustard-Pretzel-Chicken

Honey butter is amazing, but I’ve never tried it with hot sauce or chives in it. Seems like it’d be worth a shot

HoneyButter10-thumb-596x350-258341

It’s been awhile since I’ve had some good pork chops, and I’ve never tried it with balsamic cherries before.

8389991424_7304065315

Bacon!
Sick or healthy, I’m always a fan of bacon. Always.

Artisan Bacon-Cheese Bread

Easy-Artisan-Bacon-Cheese-Bread-1-

Bacon Caramel Tart…it’s got bacon & Caramel with a little bit of salt. This sounds too good to be true.

Bacon-Caramel-Tart-1

Finally: Vegetarian Recipes

Note: Vegetarian, NOT Vegan. There may be eggs &/or dairy products in these recipes.

Squash & Kale Quesadillas

squashkale

Morrocan Carrot & Chickpea Salad

moroccan_carrot_salad_recipe

Garlic Butter Sweet Potato Fries & Feta Dip

spfries-2-2

Quinoa Pancakes

quinoa-power-pancakes-2-text

Lentil Cakes with Poached Eggs

lentilcakes

I’m pretty sure this is Vegan. Buffalo Mozzarella

8365959492_12973a1ec6_o

Butternut Squash Cannelloni with Sage Sauce

Cannelloni08(Web)-thumb-596x350-260045

Sweet Potato Chips made in the microwave

sweet-potato-chips-text

Well, that’s it for this week. Sorry I wasn’t as chatty as I normally am, but I’m still getting over my cold. Maybe some cinnamon bus would help…

With Love & Letters, Lexi

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Two Weeks of Food Jan 4-18

  1. Titillating Thoughts February 7, 2013 at 5:27 am Reply

    Who doesn’t love sticky buns?

    • AS Thacker February 7, 2013 at 5:40 am Reply

      Right? I mean…I’m pretty sure it’s in all religious texts. “Thou shalt love sticky buns”

      • Titillating Thoughts February 8, 2013 at 12:50 am

        Right? Although you don’t like when someone gushes white icing on your buns?

Leave a Reply

