Writing & Reading Jan 8-14

So I’ve been MIA and really sick, but I’ve got enough of my mind back to realize that it’s Monday and I need to do two things. First I’m writing this post and linking to some pretty awesome articles on the web. Second, I have a good number of blogs that I meant to post Friday, but I was too sick to do much besides wake up for bathroom breaks and contemplate writing my will. Luckily, I didn’t because my husband would’ve been left with nothing had I died since he was the one who got me sick.

Anyway, here is this week’s worthy articles. I will warn you that I have found myself fascinated by flash fiction and it may be reflected here. I tried not to, but I may not have been as successful as I would have liked. Also this will be much shorter than last week due to the limited time I had to search all of my favorite sites

First we have two competitions from Writer’s Digest. Competitions are good for writers. Winning will make your confidence soar, but figuring out why you didn’t win will help you improve your writing. My only advice is before you enter understand that hundreds if not thousands of people enter writing contests everyday. Just because you didn’t win doesn’t mean your writing isn’t good or even great. Just keep trying.

The Deadline is May 6, 2013

The Deadline is May 6, 2013

Deadline is April 1, 2013

Deadline is April 1, 2013

Looking at it now I may have been a bit confused. I was apparently more into finding competitions this week. Here’s one from Glimmer Train that’s deadline is coming up on February 28. I’m trying to make sure I give everyone enough time to write for each competition.

Glimmer Train’s Short Story Award for New Writers

For the poets out there, here is an article in the New Yorker about David Ferry. He just won the National Book Award for Poetry!

The-New-Yorker-logo

I know writing a query letter brings a lot of anxiety to most writers. Luckily the Huffington Post shared a nice and succinct article about the four components of a query letter.

Huffington Post

A truly fascinating article about Jack Kerouac’s Literary Agent, Sterling Lord. It mentions his new book Lord of Publishing once, but for the most part it’s just an interesting story about another man in the business.

Sterling Lord

Memoir writing is becoming a fad. Or perhaps it’s always been a huge genre and I’ve only just now taken notice. Either way, I’ve read a few lately that have seemed like text books. Just a statement of facts on paper with no actual story-telling to it. Katie Roiphe apparently felt the same.

memoir

Alas, I fear that every week will have at least one post from terribleminds.com. What can I say? Chuck Wendig’s writing appeals to me and his topics entertain me. What else can make a writer more worthy of attention? This particular post is about World Building. I’ve always wanted to build a world. It may just be a God complex though.

8250629232_849803c3ea_o

Writing is Hard Work was one of the first writing blogs I ever subscribed to. Roger Colby is both an author and a teacher  and both come across in posts. In this post he covers how to deal with direct characterization. I think my favorite part of this article is that he never says “show, don’t tell” which is over used and vague.

Writingishardwork

And here comes the Flash Fiction:

Deadline January 31

Deadline January 31

 

Make sure to read the prompt...also I'll be changing this out on the 16th when the new one starts.

Make sure to read the prompt…also I’ll be changing this out on the 16th when the new one starts.

Deadline is this Friday

Deadline is this Friday

 

That’s it for this week! Let me know if you know of blogs or articles I should read for next week! I’m always looking for new sources.

With Love & Letters, Lexi

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

