Writing & Reading: Jan 1- Jan 7

Hail! Welcome to the first official post of Worth It Now!

First up is an article from the New York Times about George Saunders and his new book, Tenth of December, which comes out tomorrow. It’s a collection of short stories. I have never read any of Saunder’s work, but the article itself is worth reading even if you have no interest in the book. I will say that this man has very interesting things happen in his lifetime. Be warned, though; it’s a lengthy article. Just click the picture of George below to go the article.

George Saunders

HP Lovecraft was the original Stephen King only less prolific and more substance. And here is an article he first had publish in January 1920 providing young writers with advice. I mean, what else is there to say? Who doesn’t want advice from a legendary writer?
hp lovecraft

Bookpage’s version of the 20 most anticipated books of 2013. I mean what else is there to say? I love lists of upcoming books, just like I love seeing the previews for movies at the theatre.
2013

The Wheel of Time is considered one of the best selling series and now, 6 years after the author, Robert Jordan, died, the series comes to a close. Brandon Sanderson wrote the last 3 novels in the series with the help of the original author’s widow and two editors. Here is a brief interview with Robert Jordan’s widow about the experience.

a_memory_of_light

An amazing opportunity for writers is a one-year residential fellowship at the University of East Anglia in Norwich England with a stipend of  26,000 euros. To enter to win this fellowship all you need is up to 2500 words of fiction pertaining seriously to some aspect of the “Far East.” I know it’s not far off but the deadline for this is January 14, 2013. If you ask me it’s just enough time to write a good 2500 words and edit.

UEAlogo2

It seems that every blog in the world is covering New Year’s Resolutions, which is understandable considering it is a New Year and all. Writing blogs are no exception. Here are some of my favorite posts.

The Write Place

Noob's Publishing

If you’re looking to challenge yourself as a reader I don’t think I’ve yet to find a better one than this. Don’t be afraid to learn about a new genre or explore new ideas; you may just find something new to love.

8250629232_849803c3ea_o

If you know you have an awesome story but you just can’t seem to get it on paper then this article is for you! I know from personal experience that this can be true.

lock-key02

A lot of books on writing can come off kind of cheesy, but here are the books that come recommended. I’ve even read few myself and I loved them.

stephen-king-on-writing-memoir

Have you ever wondered if you should use a pen name? Here’s a brief post on why author’s have in the past and whether you should with your work.

Pen name

Social Media is taking over the world. Even news sites are quoting twitter and tweeting about their stories. If you don’t think that an author needs a facebook/twitter/linkdin account, here are a few compelling arguments to the contrary.

Social-media-for-public-relations1

And finally, it’s important to write something you would like to read. I personally like stories that absorb me into their world to the point I forget that I’m reading… At least until my husband yells at me for ignoring him. Although I don’t agree with everything written in the post, you may find it works for you. You’ll never know until you try.

flow-game-screenshot-1

That’s it for today! I hope you found some of these interesting and helpful! Tomorrow’s post will be about Photography and Photoshop, but I hope to see all you readers and writers back here next Monday!

With Love & Letters, Lexi

Post Script: This was supposed to be posted yesterday, but for whatever reason it didn’t. I had to recheck all the links and photos, but we should be good to go now. Hopefully this won’t put me to far behind in getting the Photography and Photoshop post up today.

Amazon.com Widgets

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

